At age six,  I won a smiling contest

Without front teeth,  I was obviously the best

They picked me and this guy

His name (I thought) was Pinky

When he laughed,  I knew why

He turned pink from head to toe

At least he had front teeth,  wouldn’t you know?

I never saw Pinky after first grade

Over the years his memory  began to fade

During a government class my senior year

Why,  who should appear….

It was Grady,  AKA Pinky,  or at least I thought it was him

Because when he laughed the shade of pink was hard to dim

I didn’t confront him about first grade

My suspicions were confirmed,  with the inscription he made

In my annual he wrote:

“It’s easy to see why you won the smiling contest,  don’t ever loose that smile.”

…..I guess,  A single Smile can make Life Worthwhile……

